Add Product

Search Results:

Reply
New Member
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-18-2019

LG TV install to DIRECTV BOX

I bought a UHD 43" TV today.  When I attempted to set it up, all went well through the screen prompts until I started getting "no signal" messages on the screen.  My connection from the box to the tV consisted of a coax cable from the TV OUT to the ANTENNA IN connections.  I also pluigged the three VIDEO and AUDIO jacks into the rear of the TV according to the scant instructional image on the install procedure.  The Direct TV box has no HDMI plug, so wasn't able to make that connection, and maybe it's not needed.

 

I'm at the end of my patience with thiis.  If I'm not able to hook it up, it's going back to BB.  What am I missing?

Posts: 6,972
Topics: 140
Kudos: 420
Solutions: 321
Registered: ‎11-30-2015

Re: LG TV install to DIRECTV BOX

Good Afternoon, thefang,

 

Congratulations on your purchase! Thank you for sharing that you’re having some issues with setting up your new 43” LG TV. We’d be very happy to see how we might be able to help you troubleshoot this issue.

 

Have you reached out to DIRECTV regarding this matter? They may need to program something special on your TV. How’d you have the box previously connected? It sounds like you may currently have the TV double connected the box.

 

Respectfully,

 

Mariah|Social Media Specialist | Best Buy® Corporate
Give Kudos if you like this post or Accept as Solution if it answers your query!
New Member
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-18-2019

Re: LG TV install to DIRECTV BOX

Thank you for resonding.  My previoius TV got it's input signal via a S video cable, which is a round connector with 4 pins.  It also got input via a three wire red white yellow audio/video cable.  The new TV has no S video input.  I'll give Direct TV a call tomorrow.  Maybe my box is obsolete with current technology.  I hope they don't point me back to BBY.  Let's see what happens....

Posts: 6,972
Topics: 140
Kudos: 420
Solutions: 321
Registered: ‎11-30-2015

Re: LG TV install to DIRECTV BOX

Hello, thefang,

 

Prior to giving DIRECTV a call, can you please share the model number of your cable box with me? I may be able to locate your box’s manual online or a photo of the back of it, and share if there’s a connection way that would work with your new TV.

 

Kindly,

Mariah|Social Media Specialist | Best Buy® Corporate
Give Kudos if you like this post or Accept as Solution if it answers your query!
New Member
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-18-2019

Re: LG TV install to DIRECTV BOX

Hello Mariah,

 

I fixed the problem.  It was a bad coax cable from the box to the TV.  However, I am disappointed with the image quality.  I was expecting crisp image definition. The images are no better than my old 32" Insignia, which was the reason I chose a 4K UHD.  Maybe it's the signal quality from Direct TV.  More troubleshooting ahead......

New Member
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-18-2019

Re: LG TV install to DIRECTV BOX

Hello Mariah,

 

To wrap this up, I called DirecTV and the problem is my box is old and not HD or 4K.  4K is a premium subscription, so I returned the TV and will get another non-4K affter I get the HD box installed.  Although, I suppose the 4K TV would have worked fine only at a std HD level.  Who knows.

 

Thanks,

Al

Posts: 6,972
Topics: 140
Kudos: 420
Solutions: 321
Registered: ‎11-30-2015

Re: LG TV install to DIRECTV BOX

Al,

 

Thanks for sharing an update with us! I’m happy to hear that the issue was on DIRECTV’s side of things. Please don’t hesitate to reach out to us in the future on other questions or concerns; we’re always delighted to take a peek or give our $0.02.

 

Respectfully,

Mariah|Social Media Specialist | Best Buy® Corporate
Give Kudos if you like this post or Accept as Solution if it answers your query!