Add Product

Search Results:

Reply
New Member
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎06-30-2019

Viper 7111V troubleshooting

Had viper 7111V remote programmed to remote start my 2016 Ford Focus about a year and a half ago by Best Buy. All of a sudden, the remote will not start the car no matter how many times I tried. Remote battery has also been replaced. Any ideas?

Is this warrantied?

Geek Squad Agent
Posts: 3,368
Registered: ‎03-20-2012

Re: Viper 7111V troubleshooting

Hmmm... That's quite strange that it all of a sudden stopped working.  Was the battery changed out, any electrical work done on the vehicle that may have caused it to stop?  Are there any lights that flash (parking lights), or do you hear any clicking coming from under the dash when you press the button?  Was the initial installation completed by Best Buy or was the remote just paired up by us a year ago to an existing remote start system?

Sorry for so many questions, but I'd be more than willing to help out more, as much as possible, when I return tomorrow morning.  If you're getting some flashes after you press the button, or hear a series of clicks please let me know how many times it clicks or flashes.  Those are troubleshooting codes that could help me pinpoint what could be causing the problem.  Be sure to check to make sure your brake lights are fully operational also.  That one gets a few of my customers ever year.  If your brake light is out, it could be what is causing the vehicle to not operate as it should.  Really without knowing more, that's about all I can say.  

Hope to hear back from you soon, but know that I'll be out of the shop until tomorrow morning.  I'll check back as soon as I have a break inbetween appointments to read your reply!  Have a wonderful evening! 

I am a CAR Geek Squad Autotech, but the views that I post are my own and not that of Best Buy.
***Know that I am not able to issue official responses and that my posts are only here to help before an official response is offered by a Best Buy Social Media Specialist***
Was the question answered click solution and kudos the post?!
New Member
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎06-30-2019

Re: Viper 7111V troubleshooting

Thanks for your response!

Nothing has been changed out or been added to the car since this was installed in November 2017.  This is the exact system I purchased here:
https://www.bestbuy.com/site/reviews/viper-remote-start-system-with-interface-module-and-geek-squad-...

Best Buy did a clean install of the system.

I just checked.  No clicks at all and brake lights are fully functional.  Not sure at all why it is doing this.  I had used it regularly even this summer to get the AC going.

New Member
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎06-30-2019

Re: Viper 7111V troubleshooting

And no, headlights do not blink as they usually do when I activate the remote start.

Geek Squad Agent
Posts: 3,368
Registered: ‎03-20-2012

Re: Viper 7111V troubleshooting

yeah, sometimes those "brains" (the unit) doesn't give this feedback like some of the other models that we carry.  It could be that the module is in valet mode, but it's hard to tell without any shutdown diagnostics.  My recommendations would be returning to the installation bay that performed the work originally, if possible, or head to any other Best Buy to see if they can help. 

Our lifetime labor warranty should cover this as a warranty appointment, but if there is something wrong with the product itself you may be asked to work with the manufacturing company.  That said, the Geek Squad installer should be able to let you know what is going on after taking a closer look at the installation and control module!  Call the store nearest you to speak with an installer today about scheduling!

Best of luck!

I am a CAR Geek Squad Autotech, but the views that I post are my own and not that of Best Buy.
***Know that I am not able to issue official responses and that my posts are only here to help before an official response is offered by a Best Buy Social Media Specialist***
Was the question answered click solution and kudos the post?!
New Member
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎06-30-2019

Re: Viper 7111V troubleshooting

Thank you so much for your help!  I will attempt to go in this week and see what's going on.

Geek Squad Agent
Posts: 3,368
Registered: ‎03-20-2012

Re: Viper 7111V troubleshooting

Awesome!  Feel welcome to keep me posted, but know I'm heading out for vacation till the week of the 14th!  Take care and Best of Luck!

I am a CAR Geek Squad Autotech, but the views that I post are my own and not that of Best Buy.
***Know that I am not able to issue official responses and that my posts are only here to help before an official response is offered by a Best Buy Social Media Specialist***
Was the question answered click solution and kudos the post?!
New Member
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎06-30-2019

Re: Viper 7111V troubleshooting

Bringing it in tomorrow afternoon.  Will update with what happens.  

Side note, how would I go about adding smartphone remote start access to my existing setup I have?

Geek Squad Agent
Posts: 3,368
Registered: ‎03-20-2012

Re: Viper 7111V troubleshooting

How did the appointment go?  To add the smartphone, you just need to buy the hardware and the service fees required to use their network from your phone.  there is normally a service fee also for installing this device.  Did you have the chance to speak with the installer about this, if not, I'd be happy to help more!

I am a CAR Geek Squad Autotech, but the views that I post are my own and not that of Best Buy.
***Know that I am not able to issue official responses and that my posts are only here to help before an official response is offered by a Best Buy Social Media Specialist***
Was the question answered click solution and kudos the post?!
New Member
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎06-30-2019

Re: Viper 7111V troubleshooting

Took the installer about 2 minutes to figure out that for some reason, the remote just needed to be repaired with the remote starter.  He said it happens sometimes when batteries go dead, new things added to the car, etc.  I didn't have any of these issues so still not sure what the root of the problem was.  

The told me the same thing about the remote starter using the cell phone.  I thought there was a bluetooth version that you wouldn't need to pay monthly fees?