Add Product

Search Results:

Reply
Highlighted
New Member
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-27-2019

Horrible Customer Service Experience

First off I as extreamly disappointed your company can not be contacted by email!  What a joke!

 

To whom it may concern,

 

I am completely dissatisfied with the customer care I have received with your Geek Squad.  There are policy that need to be reviewed for an improved customer service experience.

 

I would like to start by saying that I purchased my cellular phone directly from BestBuy under the impression that they had the BEST insurance protection.  In an era that a persons cellular device is a direct extension of their self (phone, camera, banking, work, email, alarm...)  it was important for me to feel insured.  Without hesitation I purchased the BestBuy phone protection plan with no intention of ever having to use it.

 

Unfortunately,  I lost my phone.   I was devastated in the loss of the phone, all my information and pictures lost that may or may not be backed up.   My husband and I went down to our local BestBuy.  We were told that nothing could be handled in store( first disappointment), and was given customer service number to contact 1-866-933-5552.
We decided to stay in the store to call the customer care number, in case we were were directed to come back to the location ( it's hard to go back and froth with a one year old child).  My husband called the phone number provided only to be transferred 5 times (second disappointment).  We finally were transferred to the right department 1-866-205-4388.

 

We gave the representative all the information the required.  She said that the amount to replace the phone would be $249.  Sticker shocked, and because we were already in our local BestBuy I wanted to look if buying a new phone was a better option for us.  We told the representative we would call back.  

 

After reviewing our options, we decided the most financially responsible thing to do was to spend the $249 for a replacement.  We called back the correct customer care number to file a claim.  
A different representative answered.  We made her aware that we were calling back and that some of our information should already be in the system (hopeful it would save us time.)  After giving all the information we had previously given the first representative, we were informed that our claim was being sent to fraud department and would be contacted in 7-10 business days by letter( first outrage). Upset and confused, we asked to speak to a supervisor in hope of some answers.

 

The supervisor on shift explained to us that it was Sunday and there was no one available in the fraud department to answer any question.  She said that in her opinion it looked like a computer glitch (their department had a new computer system).  Since we called in twice the system assumed that we had made two claims.  She told us to call back in the morning and the fraud department would be in and able to give us more information.
The next morning my husband called in and asked for supervisor we had previously spoke to.  She was not available, so he spoke to a different supervisor who informed that there was no information to give and we had to wait 7-10 business day to be contacted back ( second outrage).

 

With a loss of patience (being that I was the one with out a phone)  I decided to call back and get more information.   
I was connected to representative Will.  Who was very calm and patient with me.  He connected me to his supervisor Sara.  Without speaking with Sarah I asked to speak with her manager( no other supervisors were previously able to help or answer any questions).  Sarah put be on a brief hold and then told me there was no one available.  She explained to me that they were working on things and although were were not getting answers as fast as we would like it was being handled in a timely matter.  We were "lucky" that there have been multiple emails sent in our behalf for more answers.  I told her if I didn't here anything back today I would call again tomorrow.  Sarah proceeded to inform me that i would be wasting my time by calling in.

 

Now I am seeking upper management help. I would like to speak to someone that can explain why this process has been such a "hair pulling" experience.  I am so disappointed in BestBuy. I have expected so much more with this company.  After this experience i am hesitant to buy another high priced item that I need to insure.  I am so outraged.  I am with out a phone and I have not one person that can give me an answer as to what is happening! 

 

We were told on Wednesday (3 days now with out a phone) that a phone was sent out Monday, but there was no tracking number available for us.  We called back Thursday and was told that on your end of the computer system there it shows a phone was sent, but if it didn't we would been sent a gift card for what the phone was worth (third disappointment).

 

Friday we finally received an email with a gift card attached in the amount of $1028.  Upon receipt of this email we headed back down to our local Best Buy to see what out phone options were, only to be told that we would have to pay another $350 out-of-pocket( third outrage).  I want a replacement phone!  I don't want to be forced to pay for an upgrade!

 

Outraged,we called customer service back.  We were told there was nothing that could be done because a gift card was already issued.   Customer care is a different department than the department that handles the shipping of devices.  How many departs are there and why is there no communication between departments?!?!?!?

 

This has been the most frustrating and drawn out experience I have ever had with a customer service department.  Half of the staff can not answer questions and never seem to know what is going on.  There are multiple department that have no communication with other department, some department that do not accept phone calls.  What is going on at corporate Best Buy? 

 

In the past I have recommended Best Buy to all of my friends and family for phones, elections and appliances ( all which I have purchased form your store in the past).  Now I question my faith in Best Buy and the quality of  your company.  I am hesitant to ever make another purchase in your store.

 

I would like someone to contact me that is able to answer questions. 

 

 

Geek Squad Agent
Posts: 3,485
Registered: ‎03-20-2012

Re: Horrible Customer Service Experience

you'll have to sit tight for an official response/help from a forum moderator.  These moderators do work out of the corporate headquarters and should be by within 3 to 5 business days, but they've been pretty busy lately, so we appreciate your ongoing patience while you look for the answers you were hoping to gather.

Since there was a gift card amount that was paid out, the plan would be fulfilled and you'd need to purchase a new phone, with a new plan to protect the new device.  You're welcome to use the gift card towards this purchase, but an exchange would not be possible because the plan that was purchased had a fulfillment of the gift card being paid to you. 

I'm sure a moderator can clarify this a little better, but I'm glad to know you were able to get the plan fulfilled for your lost phone.  With apologies, there are tons of departments many of which do not work on anything outside of their area of expertise, but there should be notes, which it sounds like there were plenty of emails regarding your case. 

We appreciate the time you've spent reaching out to us on the Best Buy forums, and I hope you're able to speak with a moderator soon.  Have a wonderful night! 

I am a CAR Geek Squad Autotech, but the views that I post are my own and not that of Best Buy.
***Know that I am not able to issue official responses and that my posts are only here to help before an official response is offered by a Best Buy Social Media Specialist***
Was the question answered click solution and kudos the post?!
New Member
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-27-2019

Re: Horrible Customer Service Experience

The is nothing here to be "glad" about.  Nothing has been fulfilled. I have no phone. I will not use a gift card untill contact by someone who can answer more questions or EVER purchas a protection plan from your company again!!!  Being sent a gift card instead of a phone is unacceteple. I am out of more money than I would have been with no issurance!  You may want to reread my post.

 

Regular Contributor
Posts: 841
Registered: ‎02-09-2011

Re: Horrible Customer Service Experience

He's not the one that can help you, that's why he said wait for a moderator as they're the ones from corporate who can work issues. He was merely clarifying what may have happened.
I am not a forum moderator nor voice of corporate. One of the corporate moderators will be with you as soon as they can for the official response from Best Buy. The forums work on a first come, first serve basis and it can take a while for a response.
New Member
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-27-2019

Re: Horrible Customer Service Experience

I understand that. My biggest issue with Best Buy corporate customer care, is that people are always "trying" to respond to issues with out being the employee "in charge " of handling an issue. No one seems to ever be able to help or answer any questions except for in a generic manner. Obviously, his comment added to my frustration after attempt to reach out to this company in a different forum and still not being helped and asked to wait longer. Obviously I am out of patience.
Posts: 365
Topics: 22
Kudos: 133
Solutions: 13
Registered: ‎10-03-2017

Re: Horrible Customer Service Experience

Hi, ash702,

 

Thanks for taking the time to share with us your experience utilizing our Geek Squad Loss and Theft Protection.

 

I've never lost a phone before, but I have had to had some repaired. And, I know that it's never a fun time being without your device because, like you said, cell phones are an extension of ourselves now-a-days. Being able to reach out to us and have your communications seem seamless is always our goal, and I truly apologize for the troubles that occurred during your phone calls to us to get this resolved. While I cannot give any details as to what had happened in your situation and why this was not an ideal experience, I'd be happy to look into your account and research what I can, if you'd like. 

 

In regard to the gift card that was sent to you, this should have been in the amount of the cost of the phone. You can use this gift card towards the purchase of a new phone that you can then activate onto your account. What were you looking at purchasing to replace your phone?

 

Happy to help!

 

 

Cameron|Social Media Specialist | Best Buy® Corporate
Give Kudos if you like this post or Accept as Solution if it answers your query!