Add Product

Search Results:

campr5

digital SLR camera to fit a Minolta lens?

I' looking to buy a digital SLR camera.  Have a minolta film camera with two lenses; would like to find a camera that can use these lenses.  Anybody know if there are cameras out there that interchange with minolta lenses?   One lens is an AF35 80/4-5.6 II lens.  I know Minolta is no longer in the camera business.
Please use plain text.
Valued Contributor
Rrrrrrr

Re: digital SLR camera to fit a Minolta lens?

Konica/Minolta was bought by Sony. Sony's DSLR is basically a Konica/Minolta with a Sony label. It does work with all Sony (and the Konica/Minolta 5D & 7D) DSLR's from what I've found.
campr5

Thanks for the info.  Call me stupid but is the Sony DSLR one model of a camera or all their SLR cameras?   I'm just beginning my education into digital cameras.  I know what the SLR is but the DSLR?   digital?  Again, is that one model of a camera or are their a variety to chose from?
Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
Entropy

DSLR stands for Digital SLR.  (As opposed to film).

Sony has a series of DSLRs known as the "Alpha" series, all of which use the same lens mount.

Do keep in mind that I'm fairly certain Minolta changed their lens mount at some point in history prior to the Sony buyout.  Newer pre-buyout Minolta lenses will work on Sony DSLRs but older ones may not.

------------------
*disclaimer* I am not now, nor have I ever been, an employee of Best Buy, Geek Squad, nor of any of their affiliate, parent, or subsidiary companies.
Please use plain text.
campr5

Thanks much.  You gave me more information than anyone I've talked to so far.  My Minolta lens is from 2002.