Add Product

Search Results:

Reply
New Member
lapalmer1969
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-03-2009
Accepted Solution

$1000 gift card promotion?

I received information from a friend who said on your website (Bestbuy.com) there was a link that took you to a page to enter your email address and when he did so he received an email that said to print out the voucher sent to him and receive a $1000 gift card which he did and took it to his local store. There they scanned it and it gave him the card. Is there any truth to this? It seems very far fetched.

Thanks,

Lewis

Please use plain text.
RealGeorgeW
Posts: 7,506
Topics: 543
Kudos: 767
Solutions: 289
Registered: ‎02-12-2009

Re: $1000 gift card promotion?

I would say you recevied some lovely nommy spam. Deletion mandatory, Trash Can emptying optional.





If you like my post, or solution to your issue/question, go ahead and click on the little star by my name and/or accept the post as the Solution. It makes me happy.

I'm NOT an employee of Best Buy, or Geek Squad, though I did work as an Agent for a year. None of my posts are to be taken as the official stance that Best Buy will take on your situation. My advice is just that, advice.
Unfortunately, that's the bad luck of any electronic, there's going to be bad Apples... wait that's a horrible pun.
Please use plain text.
New Member
lapalmer1969
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-03-2009

Re: $1000 gift card promotion?

I thought so but figured I`d check into it. Thanks for the quick reply.

Please use plain text.
Adamtech
Posts: 5,632
Kudos: 366
Solutions: 239
Registered: ‎07-07-2009

Re: $1000 gift card promotion?

Yep, spam is great!

Adam

Best Buy Community - Retail, Americas

 

Forum Guidelines | Terms & Conditions | Community Guidelines | Blogging Guidelines

*Remember to mark your questions solved and click the star under the user's name to show your thanks!

Please use plain text.
Trusted Member
thomasr1950
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎01-02-2010

Re: $1000 gift card promotion?

I saw a web site showing BB gift cards with purchases. I don't see it on BB's web site. Is it valid?

Please use plain text.
New Member
phillip63
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-17-2012

Re: $1000 gift card promotion?

i received a text message from you and this is what it say's ok you have been randomly selected for a bestbuy gift get your 1000.00 gift card at www.bestbuy.com. youre-a-winner.net/id=bblprrpfwy
Please use plain text.
Valued Contributor
hydrogenwv
Posts: 2,398
Registered: ‎01-26-2011

Re: $1000 gift card promotion?

The text isn't from Best Buy. It's a scam. If it was from Best Buy it'd be at the URL "www.bestbuy.com/". As you can see from the URL you pasted, the Top LEvel Domain is "youre-a-winner.net", not "bestbuy.com".

 

 

Please use plain text.
Area51Kev
Posts: 887
Topics: 124
Kudos: 93
Solutions: 18
Registered: ‎03-02-2011

Re: $1000 gift card promotion?


phillip63 wrote:
i received a text message from you and this is what it say's ok you have been randomly selected for a bestbuy gift get your 1000.00 gift card at www.bestbuy.com. youre-a-winner.net/id=bblprrpfwy


Hi phillip63 and welcome to the forum.

 

It's a known scam. Do not go to the site, or give them any information. It's one of those cases of, "If it sound's too good to be true..." 

 

Take care.

_______________________________________________________

iMac, iPhone 4S, iPod touch, and Apple TV user. Yes, an Apple fanatic.
Please use plain text.